New WhatsApp update lets you delete sent messages even after an hour
WhatsApp has extended the time frame in which you can delete a sent message to over 1 hour. Since the Delete for Everyone feature was introduced in November last year, a sent message could not be deleted after 420 seconds (7 minutes). Now the time to recall that un-thoughtful message has been extended to 4096 seconds, that is, 68 minutes and 16 seconds to be exact.
The update is available for beta users right now but would soon roll to all WhatsApp users. In fact it is only available for beta users on Android and is yet to make it to iOS as well.
Apart from this upgrade, the new update fixes the gif section crash and modifies some Emojis in stickers. Some users reported that they could not add Gifs in messages as the section would stop working as soon Gifs tab was opened. WhatsApp has also brought back text-only profile update and it will reflect in the profile menu in settings.
WhatsApp is also known to be working on a forward message tag that will help users fight off spam and overload of forward messages. Every forwarded message will carry a Forward message tag to make user aware that is probably comes from some other chat of chat group.
This along with the stickers feature is said to be hidden from the app right now and disabled by default but was reported by WaBetaInfo.
WhatsApp recently brought payments feature in India that allows you to send (and receive) money to a WhatsApp number directly from the app. The feature is UPI-based (Unified Payments Interface) which means it directly links to your bank account and doesnt — rely on or act like — a third-party wallet service. Currently, WhatApp Payment supports several Indian banks including Axis Bank, HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank, State Bank Of India, Yes Bank and Airtel Payments Bank among others.