Be afraid! Sarahah app has taken all your email and phone details; here’s how

Be afraid! Sarahah app has taken all your email and phone details; here’s how

Have you been using Sarahah and posting the comments on Facebook and Twitter? Bad news for you. The anonymous messaging app is secretly uploading all the information on your computer and PC to its servers.

Have you been using Sarahah and posting the comments on Facebook and Twitter? Bad news for you. The anonymous messaging app is secretly uploading all the information on your computer and PC to its servers. According to a report in The Intercept, Sarahah is getting all your email addresses and contact details and storing them on its servers. The report has cited a security analyst at Bishop Fox, named Zachary Julian. He discovered this fact when he downloaded the Sarahah app on this mobile. Even Zain al-Abidin has acknowledged this. However, interestingly, if we go by what Sarahah says in its privacy policy, it says that it does not collect user data.

Julain revealed that the Sarahah app, which describes itself as an ‘honest messaging service’, upload whole contact books to its servers. The analyst informed that he found this feature when he got the on his Galaxy S5, which runs the Android Lollipop version. The report in The Intercept said that the phone has a software called BURP Suite. It basically ‘intercepts internet traffic entering and leaving the device’. It was this software which found that the Sarahah app was getting Julian’s private information. He said that the aim ‘transmits all of email and phone contacts stored on Android.’ The report adds that a similar thing happens on Apple devices as well.

Loading...

The analyst has shared a video (on Vimeo) which shows us how Sarahah violates user privacy and gets data without consent. Initially, Tawfiq did not respond but later said that this feature was kept to help in the next update only to be removed later. He reasoned that this feature would help in letting users find their friends on Sarahah. This makes little sense since the whole idea of the app is to be anonymous.

Tawfiq said that it is a tech issue and was supposed to be removed from the app. However, it still brings up concerns about user privacy and how various mobile applications have been treating your data. Julain also mentioned that even if a user does not use the app, still it uploads contact again and again. Clearly, it is an indication that Tawfiq has known this all along.

This main issue is not taking the data, but the fact that it has been taking the data without asking for it. If you want, you can go and delete your account. It can be done only by opening it on your computer, as the option is unavailable for the app.

 

 

Source by financialexpress..

Share:

Loading...

You May Also Like

About the Author: rajtechnews